Do we fit?

Standard

imagesCANVDWFR

True love only exists in fairy tales. With that being said, I do believe that in life we come across individuals that we are more compatible with that sets the foundation for a loving relationship. Sometimes we spend so much time searching for something out of a book or that American movie happy ending, that we miss what is right in front of us or who is best for us. I say American movies because most of our movies end with happy endings which is not always reality. In my opinion, compatibility with a mix of chemistry is essential for any relationship to flourish into something that is everlasting. Who wants to be in a union where both party’s simple tolerate one another for the sake of partnership? If people would focus on compatibility instead of superficial idealism of how love should appear the world would be a better place.
In my own journeys I have fell victim to the falsehoods of true love and what looks good on the outside, to naive to realize that everything that glitters isn’t gold. As cliche as it may sound, it is a reality I share with many women across the continent. I have embraced entities that were undeserving and volatile because society painted a picture of what it should be, and in the process unintentionally shunned folk who I meshed well with in pursuit of “fool’s gold.” For me, meshed well is we clicked effortlessly simply as two totally different individuals from two different backgrounds with the same goals in mind. That means no black, white, yellow, brown, blue, green, fat, skinny, rich, or poor. No titles like handsome, beautiful, drop-dead gorgeous or homely. No boxes, molds, or placeholders for what if’s? Just a generalization of this is who we are in this moment.
I am not saying that love doesn’t exist, only that it should be built on compatibility with a mix of chemistry. My own personal experience would have been summed up by the one who saw the humor in on old womanizing Cadillac thief from a small town called Gray in Tennessee but due to lack of what society had coined as my normal. At that time my mind was closed to anything outside of my “ordinary” even if all I had to do was continue to be me. Point blank world, in your travels to find love seek compatibility first and then love will follow. How can you base spending your life with someone that you can’t even share a conversation, thought, or room with?

Leave a comment